Wrexham Council homepage

Political Make Up

The Council (52 members)

Wrexham County Borough Council has 52 Councillors representing 47 wards. They are democratically elected every four years and form the ultimate decision making body from which all other elements in the structure derive their authority.

Political Management of the Council.

In advance of the Local Government Act 2000 the Council approved new political management structures comprising:

The Mayor elected annually Chairs the Council but also carries out a range of civic duties.

The majority of Councillors are members of political groups, and the current political composition of Wrexham Council is shown on the List of Councillors by Political Grouping page.

Full councillor information is available: