Wrexham Council homepage


Frequently Asked Questions - Contact Wrexham Council and Your Councillor

How do I contact Wrexham County Borough Council?

Contacting the Council is easy. You can:

  • Call in or write to one of our offices
  • Telephone the relevant department
  • Email one of the email addresses on this site

If you are uncertain which department you need to speak to ring our main switchboard number 01978 292000 and our operators will be pleased to put you through to the correct department, alternatively you can send an email to Legal&Dem@wrexham.gov.uk who will forward your enquiry to the relevant department.

Who is my Councillor?

If you are unsure who your local councillor is you can either check the list of wards, check the list of councillor names or try the ward map.

If you are still unsure try contacting Legal&Dem@wrexham.gov.uk giving your full postal address and the information will be forwarded to you. You can also ring our electoral office 01978 292020 where staff will be pleased to help you.

Who are the Neighbouring Authorities?

Neighbouring Authorities

  • Flintshire
  • Denbighshire
  • Shropshire
  • Powys
  • Cheshire

Welsh Local Authorities

  • Bridgend
  • Cardiff
  • Caerphilly
  • Ceredigion
  • Carmarthenshire
  • Conwy
  • Denbighshire
  • Flintshire
  • Gwynedd
  • Monmouthshire
  • Merthyr Tydfil
  • Newport
  • Neath & Port Talbot
  • Powys
  • Pembrokeshire
  • Rhondda Cynon Taff
  • Swansea
  • Torfaen
  • Ynys Mon

How does the Council work?

The Council (52 members)

Wrexham County Borough Council has 52 Councillors representing 47 wards. They are democratically elected every four years and form the ultimate decision making body from which all other elements in the structure derive their authority.

Political Management of the Council

In advance of the Local Government Act 2000 the Council approved new political management structures comprising:

  • The Council
  • Executive Board
  • Social Services Committee
  • Environmental Licensing Committee
  • Standards Committee

The Mayor elected annually Chairs the Council but also carries out a range of civic duties.

Council Departments

The Council as a unitary authority provides the full range of local authority services which people rely on - from home care to refuse collection. The Council operates through 12 Departments - each with responsibility for delivering specific services in support of the strategic aims and corporate policies of the Council.