Holy Trinity Church
Arguably the area's earliest barn conversion, this unique and enchanting church was originally a Tithe Barn. Made from Fenn's Bank bricks, once a thriving local industry, the building was consecrated as a chapel in 1836.
The original barn faced south, with new transepts forming the distinctive cross shape. The chancel and bell tower, with its Joyce clock, were added in the 1860s, and the new larger vestry dates from 1911.
There's a wealth of charm and interest. The old box pews came from Gresford Church during the 19th-century, the chancel features distinctive Ruabon tiles from the 1930s, and art nouveau side windows enhance the chancel. The gallery, inscribed with a stern command from Leviticus, used to house an orchestra (as in a Hardy novel), then an organ, now replaced by the chancel organ.
Its tranquil, wooded location at the end of a small lane makes this unusual church a serene and holy place to visit.
- Car parking
- Toilet facilities, including disabled
- Village shops
- Redbrook Lodge (outskirts of village on A525 / A495 junction)
Places to Visit
The Church grounds make a beautiful nature retreat for walkers to rest
- Fenn's and Whixall Mosses Nature Reserve
Daily, dawn til dusk.