Local Planning Guidance Note No 4 - Conservation Areas

This is one of a series of local planning guidance notes which amongst other things amplifies local planning proposals with the objective of improving design standards in Conservation Areas.

These guidelines cannot cover all areas and issues and applicants and agents are advised, wherever the circumstances are unusual, to discuss their proposals with a planning officer prior to the formal submission of an application.

Since 1968 Local Authorities have been able to designate parts of their administrative areas as Conservation Areas. The legislation states that such an area can be designated because of its “special architectural or historic interest, the character and appearance of which is desirable to preserve or enhance”.

There is no standard specification for Conservation Areas. The special interest of an area can derive from a combination of characteristics, such as a historic street pattern and traditional or notable building styles. Important to all Conservation Areas is the visual “quality of place” they possess. This aspect principally results from the way in which the buildings and spaces relate to each other, together with the inherent quality of the buildings and other structures. Boundaries of existing areas are subject to periodic review, using with consistent criteria and consideration given to the designation of new areas.

With care and attention the character of our Conservation Areas can be maintained, whilst remaining viable places in which to live or work.

There are currently 21 designated Conservation Areas in the County Borough:

Bangor is y Coed, Bersham, Chirk, Erbistock, Gresford, Hanmer, Holt, Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Marchwiel, Marford, Minera, Overton, Penycae, Ruabon, Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, Worthenbury, Wrexham Town Centre, Wrexham Fairy Road, Wrexham Grosvenor Road, Wrexham Salisbury Road, Wrexham Hightown Barracks.

For further information or advice:

Chief Planning Officer, Lambpit Street, PO Box 1290, Wrexham, LL11 1WL.

Telephone: (01978) 292013
Fax: (01978) 292502

Email: planning@wrexham.gov.uk

LPG Note 4 - Conservation area

This document is available to download in the following format.

LPG Note 4 - Conservation Areas - PDF Format 403kb

To view and print PDF files, you must have Adobe® Acrobat® Reader installed: click the logo below to download the software.

Download the free Acrobat reader from the Adobe website

Adobe Acrobat documents can be converted back to plain text using Accessible Adobe® Reader.

CADW: Welsh Historic Monuments, Crown Buildings, Cathays Park, Cardiff, CF1 3NQ
Tel: 02920 500200

Wales Tourist Board, North Wales Regional Office, 77 Conway Road, Colwyn Bay
Tel: 01492 531731

The Victorian Society www.victoriansociety.org.uk, No 1 Priory Gardens, Redfern Park, London, W4 1TT
Tel 020 8994 1019

The Georgian Group, 6 Fitzroy Square, London, W1T 5DX
Tel: 020 7387 1720

Groundwork Wrexham and Flintshire, Plas Power, 3 & 4 Plas Power Road, Tanyfron, Wrexham, LL11 6PW
Tel: 01978 757524

Wrexham Area Civic Society
Tel: 01978 291161

CONSERVATION AREAS - Adopted September 1993; updated 2009

Conservation Areas

11 - Terraced Housing

Guidance Note index

back to the top