Council Tax is a locally raised tax that is payable on all domestic properties (unless they are covered by exemptions) and is made up of three separate elements: 

  • Wrexham County Borough Council charge
  • North Wales Police Authority charge 
  • Your community council charge 

We collect all of these charges, then pay the police authority and the individual community councils the amounts collected on their behalf, as well as keeping the amount due to us.

Council Tax is set annually according to the valuation band of your property. The tax collected is used by us to help pay for vital services such as education and social care.

The total amount payable is made up of two parts, 50% of which relates to the property and 50% relating to the occupier.

The property part is payable under all circumstances but the personal element can be reduced in certain circumstances.